3 Notes on Gluten-Free Food

A spread of gluten-free breadGluten-free food is one of many things that have trended on social media in recent years. It refers to food made without gluten — a protein found in ingredients such as wheat, rye, and barley.

Gluten-free food is mainly for people who have celiac disease, which inhibits the body’s ability to tolerate gluten. Gluten-free food can take the form of desserts, such as brownies, or meals, such as stews. Here’s what you need to remember when you’re on a gluten-free diet.

Naturally Gluten-Free Food

Examples of this food group include fresh eggs, unprocessed beans, seeds, nuts, fruits, and vegetables. Most dairy products don’t have the gluten as well. As for grains, experts recommend eating rice, quinoa, soy, or cornmeal. Most of these are staples in most grocery stores, so it should be easy to acquire them.

Food to Avoid

As for food that you should steer clear of, examples include beer, salad dressings, French fries, soups, cookies, and others. These are typically laden with gluten, but companies are actively making gluten-free versions of these. For example, Just Another Slice publishes recipes for gluten-free brownies and vegan treats.

Cross-Contamination

Gluten-sensitive eaters should take precaution when it comes to cross-contamination. This happens when a food product that normally doesn’t contain gluten is processed in the same equipment that processes foods filled with gluten.

Certain food manufacturers are mandated to put “may contain” statements in their products, to notify consumers that their products may contain gluten.

Gluten-free food is beneficial to a number of people, especially those who have celiac disease. This illness causes digestive disturbance once the gluten protein is consumed by the body, which compels people to eat fresh eggs, rice, fruits, veggies, and other food that doesn’t have the protein. This shows that the diet serves a purpose in maintaining the well-being of sensitive eaters.